Trade VQ
CSCS Cards


With our comprehensive Level 2 and Level 3 NVQ assessments, achieve accreditation with CSCS Skilled Worker, Supervisor and Manager cards.

CSCS Blue Skilled Worker Card

L2 NVQ Certificate in Construction Operations - General Construction (Competence)

L2 NVQ Diploma in Formwork (Construction)

L3 NVQ Diploma in Formwork (Construction)

L2 NVQ Diploma in Tunnelling Operations (Construction)

L2 NVQ Diploma in Steelfixing Occupations (Construction)

L2 NVQ Diploma in Construction Operations and Civil Engineering Services - Highways Maintenance (Construction)

L2 NVQ Diploma in Innovative/Modern Methods of Construction - Cold Formed Steel Frame (Erection)

L2 NVQ Diploma in Piling Operations (Construction) - Piling Rig Operator

Can't find the course you're looking for?


CSCS Gold Supervisor Card

L3 NVQ Diploma in Occupational Work Supervision (Construction)

L4 NVQ Diploma in Construction Site Supervision

CSCS Black Managers Card

L6 NVQ Diploma in Construction Contracting Operations Management

L6 NVQ Diploma in Construction Site Management

L7 NVQ Diploma in Construction Senior Management

The TUTS approach

We're always conscious about quality when it comes to our training. It's why we provide high-quality, up to date machinery for your team to practice on. It's why we host our training in excellent facilities, whether that's at our flagship training centre in Corby or at one of the many sites we use across the UK. 

We value engaging, interactive training that really does deliver results. It's why we carefully select our trainers, testers and NVQ assessors not only for their experience but also for their friendly approach and conscientious attitude. Together this means your team will enjoy the best training for a better future.

On-Site Assessment & Training (OSAT)

All trade NVQ’s are delivered via the OSAT ‘On Site Assessment & Training’ route, which is typically over 2-4 site visits subject to the candidate’s experience, evidence held on record and of course the intensity of the qualification they’re undertaking. Over the course of the qualification evidence is collated by the candidate and/or assessor in order to build a portfolio meeting the criteria outlined by the awarding body Cskills.

The qualifications available for construction workers range from Level 1 all the way to Level 7, Level 1 being for basic labourers and Level 7 being Senior Construction Managers.

The Process

We deliver the OSAT qualification in a 2-step process: 

Step 1. One-day induction with a fully qualified assessor
At our flagship training centre in Corby, all paperwork and knowledge packs are completed during a one-day induction. This ensures learners will already have completed 25% of their required training by the end of the day. Our assessor is on hand to answer any questions.

Step 2. Learner site visit
Our assessor will attend the learner's site to carry out Professional Discussions, Practical Observations and obtain Witness Testimonies as well as any other additional evidence required.

Depending on site availability, the learner's involvement and the evidence collected, we can often complete the Level 2 qualification in one day. 

For Level 4 and above, there are more credits to cover, which takes longer to complete. To ensure this process runs as smoothly and efficiently as possible, we use e-portfolios via SkillsFile so learners can easily liaise with their assessor and upload evidence.

Who’s it for?

The OSAT route is perfect for anyone working in the relevant role and who does not want to be away from the job in order to avoid downtime. Upon progress of the qualification, TUTS can assist in applying for CSCS ‘Trainee’ cards which temporarily allow candidates access to the site, in turn allowing them to complete the qualification before being in a position to gain the relevant full CSCS Skilled Worker card.


What is the difference between a CSCS & CPCS NVQ?

A CPCS NVQ relates to the plant categories. CPCS Red Card holders can convert that Red card to a CPCS Blue Card via the NVQ.

The CSCS NVQ is a trade or skilled worker Blue Card e.g. Wood occupations/Roofing occupations.

How long does a level 2 NVQ take to complete?

The NVQ level 2 can be completed in 2 site visits.

What card do I get?

Level 2 Blue Card

Level 3 & 4 Gold Card with the exception of A62 = Blue Card

Level 6 Black Card

Do I need experience?

You do not need any experience to begin a NVQ. You will need to gain experience and demonstrate knowledge & understanding prior to the completion of the NVQ.

Is an NVQ done on site or test centre?

Profile and Induction can and may be delivered at TUTS GROUP. The practical elements of the NVQ must be carried out on a live working site. Simulated work is not allowed.

Do I need a valid CSCS card? Which one?

You do not need to have a CSCS test to begin or complete your NVQ. You will, however, be unable to apply for any related CSCS or CPCS card.

Is there funding?

TUTS Group only delivers the highest quality of training and service, therefore we do not access funding for NVQ categories. TUTS Group will work with you to apply for the CITB skills training fund grant, up to £10K.

Is it possible to fail an NVQ?



If I am a Supervisor, can I carry out the work of an operative?

No, the supervisor units and the operative units are different and specific to operative and supervisory duties.

Can I take the course in less than 5 days?

Although some providers may offer a reduced duration course. TUTS Group guarantee the highest quality of training and candidate support, therefore our NRSW course is the full 5-days.

I believe there’s been a change to the scheme (April 2020) – does this affect me?

Yes, if you have no knowledge or prior experience within the role, or are not familiar with the new specification, then we would strongly recommend that you attend the longer duration course.

Can you deliver the training on my site?

NRSW must be delivered at an approved training location, which has been certified by the awarding body. It is possible to organise this for your site but may take a long time to arrange and be cost-inefficient.

Do I need a valid CSCS card?

No you do not need a CSCS card to qualify NRSW units.

What units do you deliver?

Units 1-6 & 9 for Operatives and Units 1, 10-14 & 16 for Supervisors as standard. Units 7 & 15 are also available upon request.

Does NRSW qualify me to work on the Motorway?

No, NRSW is a qualification for working on public highways up to A-Road classification, dual carriageway with a cap at 60mph.

What is the renewal period/Grace period?

5 years from the point of expiry. Your card will expire after 5 years, you will then be able to renew your card (by attending the reassessment course) within 5 years.

Do I need to have experience?

In order to attend our 5-day course you should have at least 6 months of experience working on or around the public highway.

How long does it take for me to receive my card after the course?

We internally verify all paperwork within 72hrs of course completion and request your certificates & cards at this time. Most certificates and cards are received within 4-6 weeks (depending on any delays with the awarding body).

Book a Course


Our team of friendly advisors are ready and waiting to help find the right course for you.

Book a Course


Our team of friendly advisors are ready and waiting to help find the right course for you.